Carlos Barbosa, Copa Libertadores Champions | 2017

Carlos Barbosa, Copa Libertadores Champions | 2017

Carlos Barbosa, the famous club from Brazil, claimed their 5th title and were crowned champions of the Copa Libertadores of Futsal 2017, narrowly defeating former Champions, Cerro Porteo of Paraguay, who was defending their title. With a close score line of 2-1, this was very balanced throughout, with only a few moments where Barbosa unbalanced Cerro Porteo to take two goals. Julio and Kevin scored for Barbosa, while Gonzalo Abdala scored for Cerro Porteo from a set play, too little too late.

The Undefeated Barbosa

The CONMEBOL equivalent of the UEFA Futsal Cup was disputed by 12 teams split into three groups. Barbosa was undefeated and only slipped to a draw against Primero de Mayo of Peru.

Player of the Tournament

Carlos Barbosa's Deives Moraes, who plays as a Pivot (Pivot), was named the player of the tournament and the top goal scorer too. As an unexpected Player of the Tournament, Deives is being hailed as the most sought after futsal player in South America, and beyond! Deives demonstrated his ability to score in high-pressure situations.

What is the Copa Libertadores de Futsal?

Copa Libertadores de Futsal (South American Futsal Club Championship) recognised by CONMEBOL (The South American Football Association) and is an International futsal competition where the best clubs around South America compete.

Former Winners

2017: Carlos Barbosa (Brazil) 2016: Cerro Porteno (Paraguay) 2015: Brasil Kirin (Brazil) 2014: Atlántico Erechim (Brazil) 2013: ADC Intelli (Brazil) 2012: Not played 2011: Not played 2010: Carlos Barbosa (Brazil) 2009: Malwee Futsal (Brazil) 2008: Malwee Futsal (Brazil) 2007: Malwee Jaraguà (Brazil) 2006: Malwee Jaraguà (Brazil) 2005: Malwee Jaraguà (Brazil) 2004: Malwee Jaraguà (Brazil) 2003: Carlos Barbosa (Brazil) 2002: Carlos Barbosa (Brazil) 2001: Banespa (Brazil) 2000: Internacional (Brazil)